My Favorite Golf Driver

How many golf drivers do you have in your garage? Come on…how many?

I have five of them!

I will admit, I only purchase a new golf driver about every 4-5 years, since my philosophy…” it’s not your equipment, it’s your body” is what I live by.

But every now and again, I get the itch to go to my local golf store…and god only knows what I’ll come out with.

About a year ago, when I was visiting family back in Oregon, I came across a brand-new golf store. Golf Galaxy was the name. For Oregon, it was awesome!

For the record, I wasn’t even looking for a new golf driver, but I proceeded to ask a young kid working there about their latest and greatest drivers.

I’ve never before done this, but he lined up 10, yes…10 drivers for me to hit in this virtual screen that supposedly shows ball flight and distance.

I started going through them one-by-one and eliminating the ones that didn’t feel right. But it was comical…the screen was showing my average drive to be over 330 yards and my ball speed to be over 175mph. I don’t know how much I believe those gadgets, but I do hit my drives consistently over 300 when I play.

Anyways…I finally picked the Mizuno golf driver with a 9.5-degree loft. The shaft is just a standard stiff that weighs 75 grams.

I love this driver!

I’ve never hit a driver so far and straight. For a hack like me, it is very forgiving and allows me to give it a good rip.

I still believe..” it’s not your equipment”, but it sure is fun to get something new once in a while.

Click for more Hamburg Golf and Hamburg Minigolf

Leave a comment